Somalia Officially Joins East African Community in Landmark Move

Somalia has officially become the eighth member of the East African Community (EAC), marking a significant milestone just three weeks after being admitted to the regional bloc.

The President of Somalia, Hassan Sheikh Mohamud, signed the membership treaty on Friday in Uganda, with the ceremony overseen by the current EAC chair, South Sudan President Salva Kiir.

The formal inclusion of Somalia into the EAC, which already includes Burundi, DR Congo, Kenya, South Sudan, Tanzania, Rwanda, and Uganda, was celebrated by President Mohamud as a ‘beacon of hope for a future filled with possibilities.’

He expressed Somalia’s eagerness to contribute to the progress of the region.

(Source: BBC, Credit: BBC)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *